Opera America Announces 2021 Director-Designer Prize

By Dejan Vukosavljevic

The Opera America has announced the winners of the Robert L.B. Tobin Director-Designer Prize.

The four winning teams are:

  • The production of the “The Central Park Five” by Davis and Wesley. The award went to the hands of Bruno Baker, director; Chantelle Good, choreography; Frank J. Olivia, set design; Sabrina Bianca Guillaume, costume design; and Ginevra Lombardo, lighting design.
  • The production of Donizetti‘s “L’elisir d’amore.” The award went to Daniel Ellis, director; Jaime Mejia, set design and projection design; Angela M. Kahler, costume design; and Cheri Prough DeVol, lighting design.
  • The production of Gluck‘s “Orfeo ed Euridice.” The awarded team is Katherine Wilkinson, director; Sarah Nietfeld, scenic design; Maureen Freedman, costume design; Christina Tang, lighting design; and Allison Plamondon, choreography.
  • The second production of “Orfeo ed Euridice” saw the award going to Scout Davis, director; Diggle, scenic/video design; Amelia Bransky, costume design; Jocelyn Girigorie, lighting design; Melory Mirashrafi, dramaturg; and Eamon Foley, choreography.

Each team receives $2,000 to further develop their production concept for an opera. The concepts will be presented to producers at the Director-Designer Showcase, held as part of the annual Opera Conference, and in exhibitions at Opera America’s National Opera Center.