New York Festival of Song to Release ‘Mi País: Songs of Argentina’ With Federico De Michelis

By Afton Wooten

New York Festival of Song announced the release of its next studio album “Mi País: Songs of Argentina” featuring bass-baritone Federico De Michelis.

Included on the CD are songs by Mariano Mores, Carlos Guastavino, Carlos López Buchardo, Astor Piazzolla, and more. De Michelis and pianist and NYFOS Artistic Director Steven Blier are joined by tenor César Andrés Parreño, bandoneon player Shinjoo Cho, violinist Sami Merdinian, and double bassist Pablo Lanouguere.

“The songs on ‘Mi País’ come directly out of my soul,” said De Michelis in a press release. “I feel fortunate to have a partner like Steve Blier, who feels them as deeply as I do.”

The first single, “Cafetín de Buenos Aires” by Mores, was released August 2. The second single, “Noches de Santa Fe” by Guastavino, will be released on Sept. 1. The full album comes out Sept. 15. “Mi País: Songs of Argentina” was produced and mixed by Jonathan Estabrooks.



DVD and CD ReleasesNews