New Opera West Announces 2021-22 Season

By David Salazar

California-based New Opera West has announced its 2021-22 season.

The season kicks off with “Rain Will Come What May.” The music short film is dedicated to the people of Los Angeles and was composed by Jihoun Chung to a libretto by José Faus. The opera stars Janet Szepei Todd.

Streaming Date: December 2021

The company has also announced its annual Pop-Up Festival which will feature seven new works including “It’s a Tragedy,” “Soliloquy” from “L’amour fou,” “Toxic X,” “Desert Games,” “Diana and Narcissus,” “Par for the Course,” and “Ain’t that About A–.”

Performance Dates: March 5 & 6, 2022

The season draws to a close with Joshua Brown and Brandy N. Carie’s “The Beginning of Everything: A Love Story.” The work will be performed by Colleen McGovern.

Performance Date: May 2022