National Opera Studio Names 2024-25 Young Artists

By David Salazar

The National Opera Studio has announced its 2024-25 Young Artists.

The vocal artists include Ana-Carmen Balestra, Moloko Letsoalo, Rachel McLean, Ceferina Penny, Olivia Rose Tringham, Nancy Holt, Sarah Winn, Emyr Lloyd Jones, Luvo Maranti, Aleksander Kaczuk-Jagielnik, Armand Rabot, and Egor Sergeev. Repetiteurs in the studio include Alistair Burton, Su Choung, Adam McDonagh, and Aya Robertson.

“During their nine months, these talented artists will participate in fully funded, bespoke training in partnership with the six leading UK opera companies. Selected through a rigorous audition process, from over 300 applications, our Young Artists represent the very best of talent, not just from the UK, but around the world,” said Eric Melear, Artistic Director of the Studio in an official press release. “Under the guidance of industry-leading singers and coaches, our Young Artists will grace the stages of Welsh National Opera, Scottish Opera, Glyndebourne and Opera North. This year will also include several performances in London at prestigious venues such as Wigmore Hall. We look forward to supporting their development and showcasing their talent.”

The artists will be involved in a workshop at Glyndebourne in December; an opera scenes showcase in December; a Welsh National Opera residency in January / February; a masterclass at the Royal Ballet and Opera; a Scottish Opera residency in February; a Wigmore Hall concert in the spring; an opera scenes performances in the spring; and an Opera North residency in May.