Musical America Announces 62nd Annual Awards

By Francisco Salazar

Musical America has announced its 62nd annual awards.

The prestigious magazine named Semyon Bychkov the Conductor of the Year while Yuval Sharon was named Director of the Year.

Other winners included Hilary Hahn as Artist of the Year and Jessie Montgomery as Composer of the year.

Bychkov is a Russian conductor who is one of the world’s finest exponents of Tchaikovsky and Mussorgsky and is a proud of his Russian cultural heritage. He is also acclaimed as an interpreter of Debussy, Ravel, Strauss, Wagner, and Mahler.

Sharon is the artistic director of Detroit Opera where he is set to produce “X: The Life and Times of Malcolm X. He was recently named  TIME100 Next list.

The awards are set to take place on Dec. 4, 2022.