Mirjam Helin International Singing Competition Unveils Finalists

By Francisco Salazar

The Jury of the VIII Mirjam Helin International Singing Competition has chosen the finalists for the international competition.

The finalists for this year are mezzo-soprano Teaa An from South Korea, baritone Stefan Astakhov from Germany, soprano Olga Cheremnykh from Russia, bass Jussi Juola from Finland, soprano Palesa Malielo from South Africa, baritone Bryan Murray from the U.S, countertenor Rodrigo Sosa Dal Pozzo representing Italy and Venezuela, and soprano Johanna Wallroth from Sweden.

The Jury who chose the finalists is made up Olaf Bär, Ben Heppner, Vesselina Kasarova, François Le Roux, Waltraud Meier, Deborah Polaski, and Kiri Te Kanawa.

The Competition Final will be held on May 29, 2019, and each finalist will perform two works with orchestral accompaniment. The finalists will appear at the Helsinki Music Centre on August 29, accompanied by the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hannu Lintu.