Mirjam Helin Competition Announces 2019 Winners

By Francisco Salazar

The Mirjam Helin Competition has announced its 2019 winners.

Stefan Astakhov of Germany and Johanna Wallroth of Sweden took home first place in the male and female categories. Both winners received a €30,000 prize to help excel their careers.

The second prize winners were Rodrigo Sosa Dal Pozzo and Olga Cheremnykh taking home  €20,000. In addition, Sosa Dal Pozzo won €3,000 for the best performance by a non-Finnish singer of a Finnish song.

Third prize went to Bryan Murray and Teaa An who won  €15,000, while fourth place went to Jussi Juola and Palesa Malieloa taking home €10,000.

The winners were chosen by the jury that was made up of Olaf Bär, Ben Heppner, Vesselina Kasarova, François Le Roux, Waltraud Meier, Deborah Polaski, and Kiri Te Kanawa.

The winners will now perform in a concert that will be held at the Madetoja Hall in Oulu on May 31, 2019, accompanied by the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hannu Lintu.