Minnesota Opera Announces Creators for Next Phase of New Works Initiative

By Nicolas Quiroga

The Minnesota Opera has announced the Cohort of Creators for the next phase of its New Works Initiative for the next few seasons.

The New Works Initiative creative cohor will be comprised of three composers including B.E. Boykin, David Hanlon and Kamala Sankaram; and three librettists Minita Gandhi, Harrison David Rivers, and John de los Santos.

The six artists in the cohort will collectively create three full-scale operas set to premiere at the Ordway, three chamber operas premiering at the Luminary Arts Center, and three song cycles premiering over the next several seasons. The result will be nine works in total. It is a combination, composer / librettist and the cycle will include opportunities for participation and development for the promotion of this type of artistic work.

“New works are the lifeblood of any artform, and Minnesota Opera is proud of our organization’s contributions to our community and the field,” said MN Opera President and General Director Ryan Taylor in an official press statement. “This evolution of our New Works Initiative represents a long-term commitment to the vitality and creative output of the six artists we are fortunate enough to engage as a cohort. Commissioning these new pieces from accomplished creators representing an intentionally broad range of lived experiences will diversify the operatic canon, speaking directly to MN Opera’s artistic and diversity, equity, and inclusion goals. We are excited to see what new discoveries will emerge from this talented group of artists as we pursue our vision to ‘sing every story.’”

The Minnesota Opera has premiered 51 new works since the New Works initiative was launched.