Metropolitan Opera Guild to Honor Lindemann Young Artist Development Program

By Francisco Salazar

The Metropolitan Opera Guild has announced that it will celebrate the legacy and impact of the Lindemann Young Artist Development Program at the Guild’s 88th Annual Luncheon.

The event, which is set to take place on Nov. 10, 2022 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City will feature spoken and musical tributes by LYADP alumni Stephanie Blythe, Michelle Bradley, and Sondra Radvanovsky, as well as current Young Artist Jonah Hoskins.

There will also be digital remarks by such LYADP alumni as Dwayne Croft, Michelle DeYoung, Ying Fang, Christine Goerke, Ryan Speedo Green, Anthony Dean Griffey, Nathan Gunn, Kate Lindsey, Erin Morley, Tamara Mumford, Kevin Murphy, Heidi Grant Murphy, Lisette Oropesa, Nimrod David Pfeffer, Morris Robinson, Craig Terry, and Bryan Wagorn.

In a statement, Richard J. Miller, Jr., President of the Metropolitan Opera Guild said, “The Guild is honored to salute the rich history and singular accomplishments of the Lindemann Young Artist Development Program. For more than thirty years, the LYADP has identified, educated and nurtured the best young talents in our field; in so doing, they have guaranteed a brilliant future for the art form we all love. Ensuring a future for opera through audience development has always been the goal of the Guild’s programs, and our Annual Luncheon helps make those programs possible.”

Melissa Wegner, Executive Director of the LYADP, added, “On behalf of the Lindemann Young Artist Development Program, I am honored that the Metropolitan Opera Guild has chosen to celebrate the program at its Annual Luncheon. The impact and legacy of the LYADP is evident nearly every night on the stage of the Met and other great houses around the world, which is thanks to our intrepid artists and the tireless work of our unparalleled faculty and staff. We thank the Guild for continuing to invest in the future of opera through its education and fundraising efforts, so these talented Lindemann artists have audiences to dazzle for many years to come.”

The Metropolitan Opera Guild’s Annual Luncheon has been a highlight of every opera season for more than eighty years, bringing together artists and their fans to celebrate legendary figures and institutions from the world of opera. Recent honorees include Harolyn Blackwell, Thomas Hampson, Diana Soviero, Marina Arroyo, Stephanie Blythe, Christine Goerke, Denyce Graves, Renée Fleming, the Metropolitan Opera Eric and Dominique Laffont Competition, Anna Netrebko, Patricia Racette, and Teresa Stratas.