Metropolitan Opera Announces Winners of 2023 Laffont Competition

By David Salazar

The Metropolitan Opera has announced the winners of its 2023 Eric and Dominique Laffont Competition.

The winners include tenor Anthony León, mezzo-soprano Natalie Lewis, soprano Teresa Perrotta, mezzo-soprano Sarah Saturnino, bass-baritone Christian Simmons, and soprano Meredith Wohlgemuth.

Each of the winners will receive a $20,000 cash prize.

The other four finalists, including Eleomar Cuello, Yuntong Han, David Wolfe, and Sahel Salam, will take home $10,000 each.

The finals concert took place on Sunday, April 23, 2023. The event was hosted by Latonia Moore, who was a Grand Finals winner in 2000. Michele Gamba conducted the Metropolitan Opera throughout the performance, accompanying the finalists.

Per an official press release, this year’s edition of the competition received over 1,200 applicants.