Metropolitan Opera Announces Summer Recital Series

By Francisco Salazar

The Metropolitan Opera has announced its 2019 Summer Recital Series.

The series, now in its 11th year, will feature six free concerts and will be presented in collaboration with City Parks Foundation’s SummerStage Festival.

The first two concerts will take place on Monday, June 10 at Central Park SummerStage and Wednesday, June 12 at Brooklyn Bridge Park; they will feature soprano Ying Fang, tenor Ben Bliss, and baritone Nathan Gunn. The singers will be joined by Met pianist Dan Saunders.

The last four concerts will soprano Leah Hawkins, tenor Mario Bahg, and baritone Joseph Lim, accompanied by Met pianist Dimitri Dover.

The concerts will take place on Thursday, June 13 at the Jackie Robinson Park, Saturday, June 15 in Williamsbridge Oval, Monday, June 17 in Socrates Sculpture Park, and Wednesday, June 19 at the Clove Lakes Park.