Metropolitan Opera Announces 2023 Laffont Competition National Finalists

By Francisco Salazar
(Credit: Natalie Powers)

The Metropolitan Opera has announced the 2023 Laffont Competition National Finalists.

The 10 finalists are baritone Eleomar Cuello, tenor Yuntong Han, tenor Anthony León, mezzo-soprano Natalie Lewis, soprano Teresa Perrotta, tenor Sahel Salam, mezzo-soprano Sarah Saturnino, bass-baritone Christian Simmons, soprano Meredith Wohlgemuth, and baritone David Wolfe.

The finals are set to be held on April 23 and will be broadcast on Met Opera Radio (SiriusXM channel 355).

The competition, which was founded in 1954 is designed to discover promising young opera singers and assist in the development of their careers. Previous winners have included Renée Fleming, Sondra Radvanovsky, Susan Graham, Thomas Hampson, Stephanie Blythe, Eric Owens, Lawrence Brownlee, Lisette Oropesa, Michael Fabiano, Anthony Roth Costanzo, Angela Meade, and Ryan Speedo Green.