Met Opera Announces 9 New Lindemann Young Artists For 2018-19

By David Salazar

The Met Opera has announced the nine new participants in its Lindemann Young Artist Program, as well as the seven that will be returning for their second year.

This year’s first-time participants include tenor Mario Bahg, soprano Jessica Faselt, coach and pianist Derrick Goff, mezzo-soprano Megan Grey, soprano Leah Hawkins, tenor Brian Michael Moore, coach and pianist Katelan Terrell, tenor Arseny Yakovlev, and soprano Meigui Zhang.

The seven artists returning are baritone Kidon Choi, tenor Ian Koziara, coach and pianist Nate Raskin, baritone Adrian Timpau, soprano Garbiella Reyes de Ramírez, and mezzo Emily D’Angelo.

Not only will these artists develop their craft throughout the coming months, but they will also get some chances to perform small roles in Met Opera productions during the the 2018-19 season. For example, Choi will appear in both “Otello” and “La Fanciulla del West” while Faselt will get a chance to appear in “Suor Angelica” and “Die Walküre.” Timpau will get a chance to play roles in “Carmen” and “La Fanciulla del West,” while Yakolev will appear in “Aida.”