Malin Byström & Piotr Beczala Win Big At The International Opera Awards

By Francisco Salazar

The Bayerische Staatsoper won the award for Opera Company of the Year taking the top prize at The International Opera Awards.

Piotr Beczala won the Male Singer of the Year and sent a video from New York, where he is performing at the Metropolitan Opera. 

Malin Byström won the Female Singer of the Year and thanked her parents in a moving speech which also saw her show gratitude to her voice teacher and her husband and three children. 

Pretty Yende won the final award of the evening, the Reader’s Choice and noted that any dream is possible.

Teresa Berganza received the Lifetime Achievement award, earning a standing ovation. 

Joyce DiDonato followed up her Olivier award with the opera award for Best Recording Complete Opera for “Les Troyens” alongside Michael Spyres, and Marie-Nicole Lemieux. John Nelsons left a Statement starting “Viva Berlioz.” 

Mariusz Trelinski won the Director of the Year award and gave a moving speech thanking the Polish National Opera while Deborah Warner won the New Production Award for “Billy Budd” and thanked the Teatro Real for the support, as well as her cast and chorus. 

Wallis Giunta won the Young Singer of the Year and thanked Opera Leipzig and Opera North, as well as her managers and her family. 

There were numerous performances including a performance of History of Opera in four months which included a fusion of music by “Otello,” “Tristan und Isolde,” The Marriage of Figaro,” “The Barber of Seville” and “Die Walkure” among others. Other performers included Brindley Sherratt, Wallis Giunta, Camila Tilling, Gordon Bintner, Toby Spence, Anush Hovhannisyan, and Anne Sophie Duprels.

Among the singers who presented included Stuart Skelton, Susan Bullock, Rosalind Plowright, and Gerald Finley.

Complete List of Winner:

The Bayerische Staatsoper-Opera Company of the Year 

Piotr Beczala-Male Singer of the Year 

Malin Byström-Female Singer of the Year 

Pretty Yende-Reader’s Award

Annette Campbell-White-Philanthropy Award 

Opera Holland Park-Outreach and Education

Veronique Gens-visions-Recording Solo Recital of Year 

Vladimir Jurowski-Conductor of the Year 

Festival Verdi in Parma-Festival of the Year

Deborah Warner-billy Budd-Teatro real-New Production

Mariusz Trelinski-Director of the Year

Músicaeterna-Chorus of the Year 

Wallis Giunta-Young Singer of the Year

Brett Dean’s Hamlet-World Premiere opera of the Year

Bernd Loebe-Leader of the Year

Les Troyens-Erato-Recording Complete Opera of the Year

Barbara Horàkovà-Best Newcomer

Krenek: Der Diktator, Schwergewicht, Oder die Ehre der Nation, Das Geheime Königreich- Rediscovered Work of the Year 

Paul Steinberg-Designer of the Year

Teatro alla Scala-Opera Orchestra of the Year