LA Opera Announces 2022-23 Domingo-Colburn-Stein Young Artists

By Afton Wooten

The Los Angeles Opera has announced the Domingo-Colburn-Stein Young Artists for the 2022-23 season.

The newest members, who were chosen out of over 700 applicants, are mezzo-sopranos Deepa Johnny, Madeleine Lyon, and Sarah Saturnino; bass-baritone Alan Williams; and baritone Ryan Wolfe. Manuel Arellano and Lucas Nogara join the program as pianists/coaches.

They will join sopranos Alaysha Fox and Tiffany Townsend, and pianist/coach Nicholas Roehler who are the returning young artists from the previous season.

The panel of judges for this year’s finalists included Sebastian Paul and Marybelle Musco, President and CEO of LA Opera Christopher Koelsch, Susan Graham the program’s Artistic Advisor, Joshua Winograde the Senior Director of Artistic Programs, Stephen King the head of vocal instruction for the program,  Nino Sanikidze the head coach for the program, and Russell Thomas, the company’s Artist in Residence.

The young artists will be featured in LA Opera’s mainstage productions and many other performances throughout the season.