Kurt Weill Foundation for Music Unveils 10 Finalists of 2024 Lotte Lenya Competition

By David Salazar

The Kurt Weill Foundation for Music has named the 10 finalists for the 2024 Lotte Lenya Competition.

The finalists include Kendra Dyck, Christian Mark Gibbs, Ta’Nika Gibson, Queen Hezumuryango, Rebekah Howell, Ana Karneža, Kaileigh Riess, Joseph Sacchi, Logan Wagner, and Jason Zacher.

“The Lenya Competition is unique and truly special in its discovery of those rare performers who communicate text and character so truthfully that they transfix and transport us,” said Harolyn Blackwell, who will serve for the first time as coach-adjudicator.

The final round, scheduled for May 4, will be judged by soprano Nicole Cabell, composer Jeanine Tesori, and director Tazewell Thompson. Ted Chapin, longtime President and CEO of the Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization and co-founder of the Encores! series at City Center will host the event.