Jonas Kaufmann & Renée Fleming Highlight Salzburg Easter Festival’s Streaming Platform

By Francisco Salazar

The Salzburg Easter Festival is launching a streaming platform in collaboration with Unitel.

From April 4 through 16, the dates of the festival, there will be free videos of the opera productions from the era of Christian Thielemann/Staatskapelle Dresden from 2013 to 2017.

The program kicks off with a 2017 recording of “Die Walküre,”  in a production by Vera Nemirova and starring Peter Seiffert, Georg Zeppenfeld, Vitalij Kowaljow, Anja Harteros, Anja Kampe, and Christa Mayer.

Streaming Dates: April 4, 12:00 to April 6, 12:00

The second recording will be a 2016 performance of Verdi’s “Otello” directed by Vincent Boussard. The recording stars José Cura, Dorothea Röschmann, Carlos Álvarez, Benjamin Bernheim, Christa Mayer, and Georg Zeppenfeld.

Streaming Dates: April 6, 12:00 to April 8, 12:00

The third recording will be of Mascagni’s “Cavalleria Rusticana” in an acclaimed production by Philipp Stölzl. Jonas Kaufmann stars alongside Liudmyla Monastyrska, Stefania Toczyska, Ambrogio Maestri and Annalisa Stroppa.

Streaming Dates: April 8, 12:00 to April 10, 12:00

Next up is Leoncavallo’s “Pagliacci” in a production by Philipp Stölzl. The 2015 recording stars Jonas Kaufmann, Maria Agresta, Dimitri Platanias, Tansel Akzeybek and Alessio Arduini.

Streaming Dates: April 10, 12:00 to April 12, 12:00

R. Strauss’ “Arabella” from 2014 will follow. The production by Florentine Klepperor starred Renée Fleming, Thomas Hampson, Albert Dohmen, Gabriela Beňačková, Hanna-Elisabeth Müller, Daniel Behle, and Daniela Fally.

Streaming Dates: April 12, 12:00 to April 14, 12:00

The festival concludes with a recording of Wagner’s “Parsifal” from 2013. The production by Michael Schulz stars Milcho Borovinov, Wolfgang Koch, Johan Botha, Stephen Milling and Michaela Schuster.

Streaming Dates: April 14, 12:00 to April 16, 12:00

All these video recordings are on permanent access at fidelio, the streaming platform of ORF and UNITEL.