Jessica Pratt, Salome Jicia & Juan Diego Flórez Headline Rossini Opera Festival 2019

By Francisco Salazar

Th Rossini Opera Festival has announced the complete lineup of the upcoming 2019 editions, The festival will include three opera productions and a number of operatic concerts featuring some of the greatest Rossini singers.

Main Stage 

The festival opens with a new production of “Semiramide” by Graham Vick. Michele Mariotti conducts the production, which stars Salome Jicia in the title role, Varduhi Abrahayan, Nahuel di Pierro, and Antonino Siragusa. The production will be presented in a new critical edition by Fondazione Rossini.

Performance Dates: August 11-20, 2019

The second production of the festival will be a revival of Davide Livermore’s production of “Demetrio e Polibio.” Paolo Arrivabeni conducts the score with Jessica Pratt, Juan Francisco Gastell, and Riccardo Fassi leading the cast. Cecilia Molinari rounds out the cast.

Performance Dates: August 12-23, 2019

Carlo Rizzi leads the final mainstage opera “L’Equivoco Stravagante” in a new production by Moshe Leiser and Patrice Caurier. Teresa Iervolino, Paolo Bordogna, Davide Luciano, Pavel Kolgatin, Claudia Muschio, and Manuel Amati headline the new production and critical edition.

Performance Dates: August 12-22, 2019

Emilio Sagi’s “Il Viaggio a Reims” will also be presented with students of the Academia di Alberto Zedda. The opera will conducted by Nikolas Nagele.

Performance Date: July 22, 2019


Donato Renzetti conducts “La Riconoscenza” with Carmela Remigio, Victoria Yarovaya, Ruzil Gatin, and Mirco Palazzi.

Performance Date: August 14, 2019

Other concerts throughout the festival will include a recital by Angela Meade and another by Antonino Siragusa. There will also be an evening of Soiree Musicales, Italian Harmonists and concerts, including Jessica Pratt, Anna Goryachova, and Simone Alberghini.

The festival also include a gala performance on August 21, 2019 with such stars as Juan Diego Flórez, Lawrence Brownlee, Angela Meade, Paolo Bordogna, Erwin Schrott, Sergey Romanovsky, Franco Vassallo, Nicola Alaimo, and Michele Pertusi. Carlo Rizzi conducts.