Irish National Opera to Present ’20 Shots of Opera’

By David Salazar

Irish National Opera has announced the continuation of its season with “20 Shots of Opera,” which will be filmed and made available on Dec. 17, 2020.

The work features 20 compact operas from 20 Ireland-based composers including  Gerald Barry, Éna Brennan, Irene Buckley, Linda Buckley, Robert Coleman, David Coonan, Alex Dowling, Peter Fahey, Michael Gallen, Andrew Hamilton, Jenn Kirby, Conor Linehan, Conor Mitchell, Gráinne Mulvey, Emma O’Halloran, Hannah Peel, Karen Power, Evangelia Rigaki, Benedict Schlepper-Connolly, and Jennifer Walshe. Performers will include Orla Boylan, Claudia Boyle, Mairéad Buicke, Sinéad Campbell Wallace, Rachel Croash, Rachel Goode, Daire Halpin, Kelli-Ann Masterson, Emma Nash, Amy Ní Fhearraigh, Sarah Shine, Sean Hayden, Doreen Curran, Carolyn Dobbin, Imelda Drumm, Anne Marie Gibbons, Aebh Kelly, Raphaela Mangan, Gemma Ní Bhriain, Naomi Louisa O’Connell, Michelle O’Rourke, Sarah Richmond, Andrew Gavin, Gavan Ring, Brenton Ryan, Gyula Nagy, and David Howes.

The works include a vast array of subjects ranging from Beethoven’s letters on his servants to biologists’ meditations.

The works will be conducted by Fergus Sheil and Elaine Kelly. Among the cast members for the operas are Orla Boylan, Claudia Boyle, Naomi Louisa O’Connell, Sinéad Campbell Wallace, and Gavan Ring, and such rising stars as Andrew Gavin, Rachel Goode, and Emma Nash.

“We wanted to find something that was ambitious in scale and involved as many composers, writers and performers as possible,” Sheil, the Artistic Director of Irish National Opera, said in a press release. “Something that would harness the talents of literally hundreds of artists, each working in small pods and each team contributing to a gigantic burst of creativity.20 Shots of Opera’ came out of that. Everyone I asked has rallied to it.”