Heidelberger Frühling Wettbewerb ‘Das Lied’ 2023 Winners Announced

By Francisco Salazar

Tenors Laurence Kilsby and Tae Hwan Yun have been announced as the Heidelberger Frühling Wettbewerb “Das Lied“ 2023.

The first prize was awarded twice and seen to around 13,000 viewers who followed the livestream. Kilsby was joined by pianist Ella O’Neill from England, while Yun was joined by Dokyung Han from South Korea.

The singing competition for Lied, founded by jury chairman Thomas Quasthoff, is one of the most important in the world and, after a four-year break due to the pandemic, took place for the third time this year in Heidelberg, hosted by Heidelberger Frühling.

In addition to prize money of 12,500 euros each, the first prize winners are linked to several concert appearances at renowned concert promoters and music festivals such as Wigmore Hall, Oxford Lieder, and the International Hugo Wolf Akademie Stuttgart as well as a professional production in a radio studio, made possible by the German public radio SWR2.

The second prize was not awarded due to the tie and the third prize of 7,500 euros went to soprano Alexandra Flood from Australia. Meanwhile, the best pianist of the competition and the prize money of 5,000 euros went to Yuhao Guo from Germany. The Audience Prizein the amount of 2,500 euros was awarded to baritone Lars Conrad from Germany.