George London Foundation Announces 49th Annual Competition

By Logan Martell

On Friday, Feb. 21, 2020, the 49th annual George London Foundation Competition will be held at Lehrmann Hall in The Morgan Library and Museum.

One of the most prestigious awards in North America, the George London Award, currently a $10,000 prize, has been granted to hundreds of the most promising young singers since 1971. Serving on this year’s panel of judges are previous award winners as well as foundation directors, including Harolyn Blackwell, Susan Quittmeyer, Lenore Rosenberg, Richard Stillwell, John Hauser, and Nora London. Each finalist will be performing one selection, with a reception being held as the judges deliberate. Accompanying the finalists will be Lydia Brown.

Notable winners of past awards include Joyce DiDonato, Matthew Polenzani, Christine Goerke, James Morris, Sondra Radvanovsky, and more. The George London Foundation is committed to the support and development of young artists, something which the late Canadian-American bass-baritone devoted much of his later years to making a reality.