Fort Worth Opera & McCammon Voice Competition Cancel 2020 Competition

By Francisco Salazar

The Fort Worth Opera and the McCammon Voice Competition Committee have announced the cancelation of the 2020 Competition due to uncertainties surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic.

According to a press release, the Committee informed each of the 30 semi-finalists that they will be granted an award of $300 to provide some financial relief during these difficult times.

Semi-finalists will also be highlighted on the websites and social media platforms of both organizations in the months ahead.

The 2020 semi-finalist competitors include SeokJong Baek, Rachel Blaustein, Leah Brzyski, Teresa Castillo, Wonjin Choi, Taylor Comstock, Joshua Conyers, Sylvia D’Eramo, Jesse Donner, Dylan Elza, Jessica Faselt, Rudolph Giron, Elana Gleason, Jana McIntyre, LaMarcus Miller, Megan Moore, Tshilidzi Ndou, Alexandra Nowakowski, Ndumiso Nyoka, John Park, Nikola Printz, Matthew Reese, Alexandra Rodrick, Brooklyn Snow, Catherine Swindle, Wm. Clay Thompson, Elena Villalón, Ethan Vincent, Boya Wei, and Junbo Zhou.

FWO and the McCammon Voice Competition Committee have not announced when the next competition will be produced but will continue to monitor the situation over the coming months.

The competition was originally scheduled to take place on April 3 and 4 but was postponed until the fall.