Elena Stikhina, Christiane Karg & Ann Hallenberg Highlight Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra 2020 Fall Season

By Dejan Vukosavljevic
(Credits: Daniil Rabovsky / Gisela Schenker / Monteverdi Choir & Orchestras official website)

The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra will be returning to the stage on August 28, 2020. The Orchestra has announced its fall season which will last until December 23, 2020.

For the purpose of this article, we will focus only on the vocal works.

Mezzo-soprano Ann Hallenberg will perform the arias from the works of Georg Friedrich Händel. The program includes the overture to “Agrippina” HWV 6; “Se bramate d’amar, chi vi sdegna,” from “Serse;” and “E vivo encora?…. Scherza, infida,” from “Ariodante,” HWV 33. The evening will also feature the works from Haydn – “Sudo il guerriero” from “Il ritorno di Tobia,” and Symphony No. 88. Riccardo Minasi will conduct.

Performance dates: October 16 – 18, 2020

Soprano Elena Stikhina will perform a program that consists of Enescu’s  “Prélude à l’unisson,” Wagner’s “Wesendonck Lieder,” and Elgar’s “Variations on an original theme,” op. 36. Cristian Măcelaru conducts.

Performance dates: October 22 – 23, 2020

Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 4 will star soprano Christiane Karg. Daniel Harding will conduct.

Performance dates: October 29 – 31, 2020

Soprano Katrien Baerts will perform a new work for soprano and orchestra by Bram Kortekaas, especially commissioned by the Royal Concertgebouw. The program also includes works by Louis Andriessen, Celia Swart, and Tristan Keuris. Antony Hermus will conduct.

Performance dates: December 3 – 4, 2020

Finally, soprano Miah Persson will perform alongside conductor Iván Fischer. The program will be announced at a later date.

Performance dates: December 11 – 13, 2020