Edmonton Opera Announces Finalists & Judges for Rumbold Vocal Prize

By David Salazar

Edmonton Opera has announced the finalists and judges for its inaugural Rumbold Vocal Prize.

The finalists include soprano Lauren Margison, bass-baritone Vartan Gabrielian, mezzo-soprano Madison Montambault, and tenor Spencer Britten. Additionally, mezzo-soprano Alla Slakhova has been invited to participate as part of a partnership between the organization and the University of Alberta, which allows for the selection of one artist from the University’s voice program.

The jurors include soprano Karen Slack, conductor Simon Rivard, chorusmaster Shannon Hiebert, artistic director Joel Ivany, and soprano Adrianne Pieczonka, who will also conduct a masterclass for the finalists during Rumbold Vocal Prize Celebration Day on Oct. 29, 2022. There will also be a final recital at the Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium on that day.

The award will be presented annually to emerging opera singers.