Bollinger International Song Competition Announces Winners

By Francisco Salazar

Wigmore Hall has announced the winners of the Bollinger International Song Competition.

The first prize went to tenor Laurence Kilsby while the second prize went to baritone Arvid Fagerfjäll. The third prize went to tenor John Matthew Myers ⁦and the fourth prize was awarded to mezzo Susan Zarrabi.

The competition also saw the Pianist’s Prize awarded to Hikaru Kanki, while the Jean Meikle Prize for a Duo went to Anna Cavaliero and Sebastian Issler.

Third Prize winner Myers also won the Richard Tauber Prize for the best interpretation of Schubert Lieder while Vinicius Costa won the Vaughan Williams Song Prize for the best interpretation of songs in English by a British composer. The Britten Pears Young Artist Programme Prize was given to Jeeyoung Lim and Benedikt Holter.

The competition was juried by John Gilhooly CBE, Roberta Alexander, Olaf Baer, Hugh Canning, Bernarda Fink, David Jackson, Graham Johnson OBE, Dame Felicity Lott, Claron McFadden, and Asadour Santourian.