Behold the Full Track Listing for Joseph Calleja’s ‘Verdi’ Album

By Francisco Salazar

Decca has released the full track list of Joseph Calleja’s new album “Verdi.”

The album, which is slated to released by Decca Classics on Feb. 2, 2018, and marks his first in six years, will include “Di quella pira” and “Ah! Si, ben mio…” from “Il Trovatore,” “Già nella notte densa” from “Otello,” and “Celeste Aida” from the opening scene of “Aida.” The idea around the album is to celebrate the tenore robusto as the voice-type of an operatic hero and showcase Calleja’s powerful yet lyrical voice.

The recording will also feature guest appearances from soprano Angela Gheorghiu and baritone Vittorio Vitelli.

The album also marks a step for Calleja into the more dramatic Verdi repertoire. Throughout the past years, he has performed many works of the composer, including Macduff in Verdi’s “Macbeth,” the Duke in “Rigoletto,” Alfredo in “La Traviata,” and Gabriele Adorno in “Simon Boccanegra,” which was released on Decca in 2013.

“Verdi” features the Orquestra de la Comunitat Valenciana, the Apollo Voices and conductor Ramón Tebar.

Full Tracklisting:

1. “Se quel guerrier io fossi!…Celeste Aida” from Aida, Act I

2. “Ah! Si, ben mio …” from Il Trovatore, Act III, Scene II

3. “Di quella pira” from Il Trovatore, Act III, Scene II
Featuring: Angela Gheorghiu (soprano)

4. “La Vita è inferno all’infelice! …Oh, tu che in seno agli angeli” from La Forza del Destino, Act III
Featuring: Vittorio Vitelli (baritone)

5. “Invano, Alvaro” from La Forza del Destino, Act IV

6. “Dio, che nell’alma infondere” from Don Carlo, Act II
Featuring: Vittorio Vitelli (baritone, Rodrigo)

7. “Già nella notte densa” from Otello, Act I
Featuring: Angela Gheorghiu (soprano)

8. “Oh’ mostruosa colpa! Si, per ciel marmoreo giuro!” from Otello, Act II
Featuring: Vittorio Vitelli (baritone)

9. “Dio! mi potevi scagliar” from Otello, Act III

10. “Niun mi tema” from Otello, Act IV