24 Singers Make Up Semi-Finalists For Glyndebourne Opera Cup

By Francisco Salazar

The Glyndebourne Festival has announced the semi-finalists for its brand new competition.

Following a worldwide search that attracted nearly 200 entries, and preliminary rounds in Berlin, London and Philadelphia, 23 singers aged 21-28 have been chosen to compete in the semi-final at Glyndebourne on March 22.

The singers will be competing for one of 10 places in the final on March 24, which will be broadcast live on Sky Arts. The overall winner will receive £15,000 and the guarantee of a role within five years at one of the top opera houses represented on the competition jury.

The semi-finalists represent 14 nationalities including Austria, Canada, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Guatemala, Ireland, Kosovo, Mexico, Poland, the UK, Ukraine, and the USA.

The jury is made up of chairperson Sebastian F. Schwarz, Barrie Kosky the Artistic Director of the Komische Oper Berlin, David Devan, General Director and President of the Opera Philadelphia, Joan Matabosch, Artistic Director of the Teatro Real de Madrid, Sophie de Lint, Artistic Director of the Zurich Opera and Director-designate of Dutch National Opera and Fortunato Ortombina, Sovrintendente of the Teatro La Fenice, Venice. Pål Christian Moe, the Casting Consultant for Bayerische Staatsoper Munich and Glyndebourne as well as Maria Mot, Associate Director of Vocal & Opera, Intermusica also make up part of the jury.

Here is the complete look at the semi-finalist:

Adèle Charvet 24, mezzo-soprano (France)

Francesca Chiejina 27, soprano (USA)

Jorge Espino 26, baritone (Mexico)

Adriana Gonzalez 26, soprano (Guatemala)

Samantha Hankey 24, mezzo-soprano (USA)

Elbenita Kajtazi 26, soprano (Kosovo)

Dmytro Kalmuchyn 24, baritone (Ukraine)

Aurora Marthens 25, soprano (Finland)

Mirjam Mesak 27, soprano (Estonia)

Denis Milo 27, baritone (Germany)

Jake Muffett 24, baritone (UK)

Diana Newman 28, soprano (USA)

Gemma Ní Bhriain 25, mezzo-soprano (Ireland)

Alexandra Nowakowski 25, soprano (USA/Poland)

Eléonore Pancrazi 27, mezzo-soprano (France)

Emily Pogorelc 21, soprano (USA)

Cody Quattlebaum 24, bass-baritone (USA)

Anita Rosati 24, soprano (Austria)

Carl Rumstadt 25, baritone (Germany)

Jacquelyn Stucker 28, soprano (USA)

Jack Swanson 24, tenor (USA)

Charles Sy 26, tenor (Canada)

Hubert Zapiór 23, baritone (Poland)