The Dallas Opera Moves Lone Star Vocal Competition Online in 2020

By David Salazar

The Dallas Opera has announced that its Biennial Lone Star Vocal Competition will move online in 2020.

The competition will allow audiences to vote on their favorite singer by checking videos of each contestant and voting here. The voting period will take place between June 1-7, 2020.

The winner of the competition will receive a $1,000 cast prize and will qualify for The Dallas Opera National Vocal Competition in 2021.

The singers in competition include soprano Amanda O’Toole, bass Corey McGee, soprano Emily Kern, mezzo-soprano Isabel Signoret, bass-baritone Jason Zacher, mezzo-soprano Jazmine Olwalia, countertenor Logan Tanner, soprano Michelle Girardot, bass Ricardo Ceballos de la Mora, and soprano Sarah Holt.

The 2020 Competition Chair is Dr. Susan Fleming with Martha Allday acting as the Honorary Chair.