Lise Davidsen, ENO, Anna Dennis, Lucy Schaufer Among Nominees of Royal Philharmonic Society Awards 2023

(Credit: James Hole) The Royal Philharmonic Society Awards has announced its 2023 shortlists. For the purposes of this article, our focus will only be on vocal or opera-related topics and nominations. Among those shortlisted for the Ensemble award, supported by Wise Music Group, are BBC Singers, Ensemble 360, and Manchester Collective. The English National Opera’s Martyn Brabbins was among those {…}

Jennifer Johnston, English National Opera & Bristol Choral Society Among Recipients of Royal Philharmonic Society Awards

(Credits: Bayerische Staatsoper official website / Opera Online) The Royal Philharmonic Society has announced the recipients of its awards for 2021. Mezzo-soprano Jennifer Johnston has been awarded in the Singer Category, while the English National Opera’s ENO Breathe received the Impact Award for the program to help Long Covid sufferers across the UK address their breathing and anxiety. The Inspiration {…}

Elizabeth Llewellyn, Jennifer Johnston, and Nicky Spence Shortlisted for Royal Philharmonic Society Award

Photo credits: Jennifer Johnston/RT Dunphy, Elizabeth Llewellyn/Frances Marshall The Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) has announced the 2021 shortlist for the Society’s annual awards. This year’s shortlist of artists and initiatives shows the important role classical music has played during an unprecedented 18-month stretch of closures and lockdowns, and how, despite the pandemic, artists have persisted in creating, collaborating, and connecting {…}

Dalia Stasevska Honored by Royal Philharmonic Society

Conductor Dalia Stasevska was awarded the Conductor Award from the 2020 Royal Philharmonic Society. The Conductor Award panel was made up of Dougie Scarfe (Chief Executive, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra); Jo Buckley (Chief Executive, Dunedin Consort); Sian Edwards (conductor); Zoe Beyers (Co-Leader, BBC Philharmonic); Linton Stephens (Bassoon, Chineke!). “It is a tremendous honor to receive the Conductor’s Royal Philharmonic Society Award and an {…}