Olivier Awards 2017: English National Opera Production Wins Top Opera Award

Photo by Richard Hubert Smith

The prestigious Olivier Awards were handed out on April 9 and while “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” dominated the awards, the opera community had something to celebrate.

Mark Wigglesworth, who conducted “Don Giovanni” and “Lulu” at London Coliseum, won the outstanding achievement in opera award beating out Stuart Skelton and Renée Fleming. 

Meanwhile, the New Opera Production was awarded to Phillip Glass’ “Akhnaten” at the London Coliseum. The production beat out the Royal Opera’s “Cosi Fan Tutte,” the London Coliseum’s “Lulu” and Lyric Hammersmith’s “4.48 Psychosis.”

The Olivier Awards are some of the most prestigious theater awards in the world as they have been a mark of theatrical greatness since they were inaugurated in 1976 as the Society of West End Theatre Awards. The Olivier Awards ceremony has had a nomadic existence, being presented both in theaters and ballrooms across London. The Awards were staged at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden from 2012 to 2016, before moving to the spectacular splendor of the Royal Albert Hall for the first time in 2017, their 41st year. The opera awards were added the second year of the organization’s existence.


Liked it? Take a second to support Francisco Salazar on Patreon!

About the Author

Francisco Salazar
FRANCISCO SALAZAR, (Publisher) worked as a reporter for Latin Post where he has had the privilege of interviewing numerous opera stars including Anita Rachvelshvili and Ailyn Perez. He also worked as an entertainment reporter where he covered the New York and Tribeca Film Festivals and interviewed many celebrities such as Antonio Banderas, Edgar Ramirez and Benedict Cumberbatch. He currently freelances for Remezcla. He holds a Masters in Media Management from the New School and a Bachelor's in Film Production and Italian studies from Hofstra University.

Be the first to comment on "Olivier Awards 2017: English National Opera Production Wins Top Opera Award"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.