International Opera Awards Nominations 2017: Anna Netrebko, Lawrence Brownlee, Eric Owens and Riccardo Chailly Among Nominees

Opera Awards

The International Opera Awards have announced its annual nominees with many of the greatest stars, companies and conductors getting nominated for the prestigious prize.

This year Anna Netrebko and Anita Rachvelishvili will compete for the Best Female Singer award with Maria Bengtsson, Stéphanie d’Oustrac, Christiane Karg and Daniela Sindram. Netrebko’s nominations marks her third time she is up for this award. She was previously also nominated for the Reader’s Choice award. Meanwhile Karg is up for her second nomination. 

Meanwhile Lawrence Brownlee, Eric Owens and Matthew Polenzani are nominated alongside Stéphane Degout, Johan Reuter and Martin Winkler for the Male Singer of the year award. This year Degout received his third nomination while Brownlee received his second nomination. 

The Reader’s Award continued to be a very star-studded lineup that included Roberto Alagna, Cecilia Bartoli, Piotr Beczała, Renée Fleming, Juan Diego Flórez, Elīna Garanča, Sondra Radvanovsky
and Bryn Terfel. The award will be voted on by the audience and should be interesting to see who wins this big prize.

The nominees for the young singer award include Louise Alder, J’Nai Bridges, Björn Bürger, Lise Davidsen, Jennifer France, Julie Fuchs, Sam Furness, Levy Segkapane, David Shipley and Long Zhang.

The companies nominated included the Houston Grand Opera, Oper Stuttgart, Opéra de Lyon, Opera Vlaanderen, Royal Opera House and Teatro alla Scala.

Riccardo Chailly is nominated for Best Conductor with Philippe Jordan, Lothar Koenigs, Susanna Mälkki, Ingo Metzmacher and Esa-Pekka Salonen. Mälkki’s nomination represents the first time a female conductor is nominated for the award and also marks the second nomination for both Koenigs and Metzmacher.

The Opera Awards will be handed out on Sunday May 7 at the London Coliseum. The ceremony will be hosted by Petroc Trelawny and Lauren Fagan, Bryan Hymel, Rhian Lois and Stuart Skelton will perform.

Full List of Nominees

Arnold Schoenberg Chor
Lyric Opera of Chicago
Oper Stuttgart
Opera Australia
Opera North


Riccardo Chailly
Philippe Jordan
Lothar Koenigs
Susanna Mälkki
Ingo Metzmacher
Esa-Pekka Salonen


Cordelia Chisholm
Paolo Fantin
Alfons Flores
Klaus Grünberg
Johannes Leiacker
Christian Schmidt


Robert Carsen
Tatyana Gürbaca
Nigel Lowery
Christof Loy
Damiano Michieletto
Kirill Serebrennikov

Education & Outreach

Dutch National Opera
Komische Oper
Lyric Opera of Chicago
Natalya Sats Children’s Opera Theatre
Umculo Cape Festival

Female Singer

Maria Bengtsson
Stéphanie d’Oustrac
Christiane Karg
Anna Netrebko
Anita Rachvelishvili
Daniela Sindram


Festival d’Aix-en-Provence
Festival Verdi (Parma)
Garsington Opera
Lyon Festival
Spoleto Festival USA
Wexford Festival Opera

Male Singer

Lawrence Brownlee
Stéphane Degout
Eric Owens
Matthew Polenzani
Johan Reuter
Martin Winkler

New Production

Glass: Akhnaten, d. Phelim McDermott (English National Opera)
Janáček: Věc Makropulos, d. Kornél Mundruczó (Opera Vlaanderen)
Shostakovich: Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk, d. Harry Kupfer (Bayerische Staatsoper)
Shostakovich: The Nose, d. Barrie Kosky (Royal Opera House)
Saariaho: L’amour de loin, d. Robert Lepage (Metropolitan Opera)
Verdi: Giovanna d’Arco, d. Saskia Boddekke & Peter Greenaway (Teatro Regio di Parma)


Polly Graham (Director)
Oksana Lyniv (Conductor)
Simon Stone (Director)
Lorenzo Viotti (Conductor)
Matthew Waldren (Conductor)
Lloyd Wood (Director)

Opera Company

Houston Grand Opera
Oper Stuttgart
Opéra de Lyon
Opera Vlaanderen
Royal Opera House
Teatro alla Scala

Readers’ Award

Roberto Alagna
Cecilia Bartoli
Piotr Beczała
Renée Fleming
Juan Diego Flórez
Elīna Garanča
Sondra Radvanovsky
Bryn Terfel

Recording (Complete Opera)
Wagner: Die Walküre (Naxos)
Tchaikovsky: Pique Dame (BR Klassik)
Leoncavallo: Zazà (Opera Rara)
Glass: Einstein on the Beach (Opus Arte)
Verdi: La forza del destino (Sony)
Berg: Lulu (Nonesuch)

Recording (Solo Recital)

Lawrence Brownlee: Allegro io son (Delos)
Allan Clayton: Where’er You Walk (Signum Classics)
Marianne Crébassa: Oh, Boy! (Erato)
Sabine Devieilhe: The Weber Sisters (Erato)
Pumeza Matshikiza: Arias (Decca)
Pretty Yende: A Journey (Sony)

Rediscovered Work

Casella: La donna serpente (Teatro Regio di Torino)
Cesti: Le nozze in sogno (Innsbrucken Festwochen der Alten Musik)
Donizetti: Olivo e Pasquale (Donizetti Opera Festival, Bergamo)
Giordano: La cena delle beffe (Teatro alla Scala)
Straus: Die Perlen der Cleopatra (Komische Oper)
Żeleński: Goplana (Warsaw National Theatre)

World Premiere

Thomas Adès: The Exterminating Angel (Salzburg Festival)
Elena Langer: Figaro Gets a Divorce (Welsh National Opera)
Missy Mazzoli: Breaking the Waves (Opera Philadelphia)
Anno Schreier: Hamlet (Theater an der Wien)
Bright Sheng: Dream of the Red Chamber (San Francisco Opera)
Miroslav Srnka: South Pole (Bayerische Staatsoper)

Young Singer

Louise Alder
J’Nai Bridges
Björn Bürger
Lise Davidsen
Jennifer France
Julie Fuchs
Sam Furness
Levy Segkapane
David Shipley
Long Zhang

Liked it? Take a second to support Francisco Salazar on Patreon!

About the Author

Francisco Salazar
FRANCISCO SALAZAR, (Publisher) worked as a reporter for Latin Post where he has had the privilege of interviewing numerous opera stars including Anita Rachvelshvili and Ailyn Perez. He also worked as an entertainment reporter where he covered the New York and Tribeca Film Festivals and interviewed many celebrities such as Antonio Banderas, Edgar Ramirez and Benedict Cumberbatch. He currently freelances for Remezcla. He holds a Masters in Media Management from the New School and a Bachelor's in Film Production and Italian studies from Hofstra University.

Be the first to comment on "International Opera Awards Nominations 2017: Anna Netrebko, Lawrence Brownlee, Eric Owens and Riccardo Chailly Among Nominees"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.